Southland Sports Awards


Each year the achievements of Southland's top sporting stars are etched into history - from codes as varied as rugby and cycling to darts and clay target shooting.

We think success should be applauded and that's why Southland Vehicle Sales proudly sponsors the Team of the Year category - this year the honour went to the Paul Henare coached Sharks, who bought home the national league title in 2013.

With the aim of inspiring our local athletes and honouring their achievements and dedication, the Southland Sports Awards feature six other categories - senior, junior, coach, administrator, masters achievement and services to sport.

Whether it's provincial, national or world championship glory that earned the award, celebrating the winners' success underlines their value as role models in our community.

The 2013 title was won by the dynamic Paralympics cycling duo of Phillipa Gray and Laura Fairweather ' the tandem team bought home gold, silver and bronze medals from the Paralympics Games in London in 2012.



awards Img


Click button to view